School is…

My daughter and son are playing school today. She set all of her stuffies on her bed in a row with one at the front and walked away saying,”Have a good day in school!” and closed the door.

Am I to understand that in her view school is a place where you sit in rows and the teacher talks? That’s school to my preschooler. Pretty quick to learn the rules of the game I’d say. Sit and Listen. I sure hope we can change the rules enough that it comes to mean more than just passive receptivity to her. Not exactly the studio…

I have a course I am taking in Multimedia Design. My exam is coming up shortly. I am frustrated to say that the exam is a multiple choice exam in which we will be asked a fair number of questions which will be answerable if I use Wikipedia well. Interspersed with a few short answer questions and editing tasks. The course work itself has been very interesting and the projects have been meaningful. It is a shame the exam has to happen at all. One of my classmates suggested that it would be better to be given a task to complete using the editing tools in the week prior to the exam. The final product to be uploaded during the exam time. It would definitely do a better job of testing what we know and whether or not we can use what we know than a ‘vomit your knowledge here’ test. Oh well, as my father would say ‘Na jyoh dann’, which is Low German for ‘Well yes then’ but so much more satisfying to say.

Leave a comment

Filed under education, learning

Leave a Reply

