Things to do when teaching reading as joy

Read widely.

Allow free response.

Share what you love to read.

Share ideas about thinking processes which support the enjoyment of reading.  (When have you experienced something similar, whatdoes this remind you of, remember when, those kinds of things)

Teach the craft of excellent texts (word choice, images, structures, patterns, voice), using the language of the craft for discussion.

Talk about literature together. Read reviews and discuss them.  Compare books.  Explore the patterns.  Use media comparisons to expand the nature of texts to be viewed and discussed.

(Pleasures of Children’s Literature)

These things  sound reassuringly familiar.  Anyone find they see their classroom practices in here.

7 Comments

Filed under children's lit, curriculum, education, learning, library, literacy

7 responses to “Things to do when teaching reading as joy

  1. everd

    Have you ever used the Reciprocal Reading Method whereby children in a group take absolute control of the experience -leading, asking and answering their own questions, creating their own enjoyment from a text? Also a brilliant method to remind us not to assume to know what children understand or need to learn next.

  2. I haven’t used this method but I feel that Reader’s Response and Literature Circles are effective for getting to enjoyment. I’ll look into Reciprocal Reading Method. Could you tell me where to start looking?

  3. Link works perfectly. Thanks.

  4. Debbie Pushor

    I love your focus on joy, Susan! So often we make reading in schools a chore. When we dissect it, study it, and turn it into worksheets and chapter questions, we bleed all the joy out of it. How can reading in school resemble reading in life? What do ‘real’ readers do? How can that shape the creation of authentic reading experiences in school?

    Things to do when teaching reading as joy – may I add to the list?

    Create an authentic reading environment – comfortable, relaxed, cozy.

    Give students the opportunity to choose what they read.

    Give students the opportunity to quit reading a book before they get to the end, if they are not enjoying it.

    Give students the opportunity to read at their own pace.

    Keep it natural!

  5. I could have used the freedom to quit reading a book today. I really didn’t like Boy O’Boy. I stuck it out but I didn’t savour it by any stretch.

  6. Debbie Pushor

    Isn’t it funny that we believe we have to read to the end? Why is that? Where does it come from? Is it because we were taught to do so by our parents, our teachers? Can we then change that with the students we work with?

    The more I work with children’s literature and talk with teacher candidates about how we use it in our classrooms, the more I’m giving myself permission to stop reading books I’m not enjoying. I’ve done that 2 or 3 times quite recently. I’m learning to take my own advice!

Leave a Reply

