Thinking out loud

I have taken quite the break over here at What Counts.  It’s been a season of transitions and the changes haven’t always been easy.  Taking the theory of my coursework and apply it into the classroom, it’s my first year teaching all over again.  Not entirely but it has strong similarities.  I’ve been walking the ledge.  Is this worth the struggle?  Why is teaching so difficult?  How can I inspire thinking and not just manage behaviour?  It’s good to know I have company. (Dan, TMAO)  It is in fact the company which keeps me going.  Local company, but often far off company of people like Kelly Doug and Clarence, keep me aware of the broader context of public education.  Kelly gives me a “close to home but not next door” viewpoint.  Doug’s thoughtful posts make me laugh and nod and introduce me to the books I should be reading.  Clarence’s classroom makes me want to move to northern Manitoba.  Who knew that back woods would be the cutting edge?  I am inspired and given hope by reading them.  They have bad days and good days and they are honest about them.

For now, my classroom is completely wireless, yes, no wires at all.  Unplugged.  Oh, I have the one computer in the corner.  I try to keep up the school website and my class site but it is not what I was dreaming of last year.  I’m not sure how to do it.  The lab is in a state of disrepair and the six computers in the library might make stations possible but they are down the hall and around the bend so it’s a struggle to get all of us there and purposeful at the same time.  I need…  I need time to think it out, plan for it, find a small chunk that I think might work.

In the meantime, I read my feeds, tag the helpful stuff, laugh at the heartening stuff and wait on the classroom implementation.  Rumour has it the tech powers are looking at laptop carts in the next budget.  That would be helpful.  I wonder if I want them as much as I want fewer students in my room or that extra EA time. Here’s to letting someone else make those decisions. Naturally, I want it all .

6 Comments

Filed under classroom, education, personal

6 responses to “Thinking out loud

  1. Donna DesRoches

    Susan,

    It is good to hear from you again! But it all sounds so frustrating. While it may be difficult to get things going the way you want in the classroom it is good that you are still relying on your personal learning network. Hey – if you want to try micro-blogging I’m donnadesroches on Twitter.

  2. Good to see you are still at it! Haven’t heard from you in a while. Sounds like you’ve been busy – sorry to hear that it isn’t quite what you expected. Are you going to Tlt this year? I’m going and even have a proposal in. We’ll see how that works out. I agree with Donna – if you want to twitter – I’m kwhobbes. Look me up!

  3. Thanks for the invitation to Twitter. So far I have been drawn to the medium. I’m not sure it suits me. Facebook is something I’m happy to play on. Time allows some play and not others. I haven’t spent any time in Second Life either. I hear about Doug J’s adventures and think that it has possibilities but only have energy for so much.

    I still have great hopes for tech lit in my classroom. It will happen, just not fast.

  4. Pingback: Wrestling the invisible « Educational Discourse

  5. Susan,
    Kelly linked us in a great blog post. I am here to extend the hand of friendship and cyber-support.
    I know the same feelings about time and energy for dabbling in techie land when there are only so many hours in a day. I also like Pownce (twitter alternative)- I am lbilak on both.

  6. Thanks for dropping in Linda. I’ll look you up.

Leave a Reply

