Literature Circles for Non-fiction

I had a wonderful day planning today. I love planning. I thought I’d do a little surfing to see what is available online to assist with my planning. I have been an online thinker and an avid feed reader but I haven’t used many online educational planning resources. I’ve never yet found a ‘canned’ unit I liked but I thought I’d give a shot on Google for ‘literature circles non-fiction daniels” and see what popped.

These are the things I found.

The hints from Laura Candler’s site are particularly good. She gives good start up suggestions and blackline masters for her process.

I’m working to the end of a few things in the next couple of weeks but then I think I will see how non-fiction literature circles work to stimulate student engagement with reading.

Now I need to think about how I will measure that objective. I’ve thought about how I can measure their success with the reading, writing, speaking, listening, viewing and representing but how do I measure their engagement?

More grist for the mill.

1 Comment

Filed under classroom, curriculum, education, literacy, research

One response to “Literature Circles for Non-fiction

  1. Jane G

    I liked the sites you’ve shared- especially Laura’s. I am inspired to try some non-fiction Literature Circles myself. I have an enrichment group coming up which would be great for them. Keep us posted on how it goes.

Leave a Reply

